Caring for Our Neighbors and Our Community        

caring others main web

On March 21, a letter was sent to update our members and donors on the COVID-19 crisis in the Little Traverse Bay Community. On March 22, the Health Department of Northwest Michigan announced the first two cases of COVID-19 in our region. On March 23, Michigan went on lockdown for three weeks. Events have evolved rapidly in Michigan and throughout the country, and this pandemic has created great uncertainty.

In the midst of this crisis, the Bay Harbor Foundation is working to respond to the immediate needs of the community.  We have been asked to be part of a leadership team spearheading the response of area charitable organizations to the pandemic, and we have set up a relief fund to ensure that the most vulnerable members of our community have the support they need.

Our Mission

We are a charitable, nonprofit community organization dedicated to helping our neighbors through donations, grants, programs and professional mentoring. We operate with the highest level of financial integrity and are trusted by both our donors and our recipient organizations.

The Mission of the Bay Harbor Foundation is always foremost in our hearts and minds as we work to improve the quality of life experience in the Little Traverse Bay Region  The Foundation continues to make a difference by strengthening our community one person at a time.  We work diligently to follow the needs of the community, and we take great care to make sure that we are meeting those needs.

 The Bay Harbor Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.  Our federal identification number is 37-1491024.


In 2003 a group of Bay Harbor property owners, business owners and employees who wanted to make Northern Michigan a better place, came together to address their desire to channel charitable efforts through what would become the Bay Harbor Foundation.  Over the years, the Bay Harbor Foundation has provided over $2,000,000 to 105 area nonprofit organizations.

Bay Harbor Foundation First Board of Directors

 Back row, from left to right – William U. Parfet, Ruth Matthews, Linda Parker, James Ramer, David V. Johnson, Steve Schott, Jill O’Neill, Tom Gale and Robin Bucholz.
Front Row, from left to right – Chris Etienne, Lori Coates-Hay, Judy Phillips, Pam Johnson, Debbie Nachtrab, Candace Fitzsimons and Chucki Gale.

2019 Volunteer of the Year - Scot A. Morrison

Our 2019 Volunteer of the Year is someone who has always been there for the Foundation.

A member of the Board since 2005, he has been not only a tireless contributor of volunteer time, leadership expertise, but is also a major donor. He has attended nearly every event these past 14 years - even our Pro-Am Golf Tournament despite having never picked up a golf club before. He happily joined the Tournament as both a player and sponsor, and even remembered to yell “fore.”

Thank you, Scot Morrison, we are so grateful for time, loyalty and commitment.
You’re a hole-in-one in our book!


Bay Harbor Foundation Staff

Candace Fitzimons, Executive Director
Christy Schneider, Administrative Assistant


                                                                 2019 - 2020 Board of Directors
                                                                   Leonard Frescoln, Chairman
                                                                  Heather Frick, Vice Chairman
                                                                    Kathryn Wisne, Secretary
                                                                      Rod Phillips, Treasurer    


Jason Allen Debra Goodman James T. Ramer 
Cindy Brammer Michael Higgins Robert Roskam
Sally Cannon David V. Johnson Clayton (Mac) Waldorf
Chris Etienne Scot A. Morrison Julie Wentworth
Tina Frescoln  Catherine Musto William Wentworth
     Judy Phillips